Ready to get more leads in the next 30 days?
Here at RoofEngine, we do our best to educate roofing owners on what's working these days when it comes to making your phone ring with quality roof replacement leads.
You guys have been giving us awesome feedback on the RoofEngine Facebook page, and I want to thank you for that.
Back in August I wrote an article on commercial roofing that went viral on Facebook and was read over 1,300 times in the first week and shared 67 times.
The response was overwhelming.
We were flooded with messages from commercial roofers asking how to actually get more commercial roofing leads.
As the saying goes... Ask and you shall receive.
Before we jump into the how-to, let's start off with some proof.
Who knows... I could be making all of this up. It's the internet after all!
43 clicks from Google. 15 of which called for an estimate.
Cost per commercial lead = $32.97
This commercial roofing company in Oregon was able to get 15 leads in 30 days for $32.97. (Total cost was $494.55 for the month)
How did they do it?
It's pretty simple. They had their very own Roof Engine.
They used Google Adwords to rank at the top for keywords like "tpo roofing" and "commercial roofing contractors" and then sent those visitors to a simple website that gave the visitors what they were looking for.
The website did its job of getting people to call in. 35% of the visitors decided to call for an estimate or submit their contact information.
43 Visitors x 35% Conversion Rate = 15 Leads
Even though they paid over $11.50 per visitor, it all worked out because the visitors were turning into leads. The website did a great job of converting a new visitor into a lead, so we will start with the website.
This next part may surprise you.
It goes against the grain of what 99% of commercial roofing companies are doing with their website.
The main concept is... less is more when it comes to a commercial roofing website.
You don't need a fancy website with multiple pages for this to work. In fact... it actually works better if you take all of the "important stuff" and organize it on just 1 page.
This is called a landing page. There are no links to other pages and really not that much content.
We just need the essentials:
A lot of people and companies tend to hide their "best stuff".
(Like their website that converts 35% of visitors into a lead.)
We don't that.
We keep things transparent and make it easy for you take action and succeed.
With that said... here's what the website looks like.
We condensed 5 pages of content down to just 1 page and left out the rest. This makes it easy for visitors to learn about the company and make the decision to either get an estimate or leave the website & move on.
Pretty cool, right?
"Ok Max, I know what the website is supposed to look like... but how do I get people to actually go to it?"
Well... let's talk about that next...
I'm sure you know, there are 100+ ways to get traffic and get yourself seen on the internet. To keep it simple and avoid spending thousands of dollars on things that may potentially work... let's focus on just one predictable source of leads.
For this method, that source is Google Adwords.
Some of you may have already used Adwords and had a bad experience. Maybe you spent thousands of dollars and didn't get anything to show for it. That's very common and you're not alone.
It's so common in fact, that I even wrote an article just talking about why roofing owners lose money with Adwords. (You can find that article in the Further Reading section at the bottom of the page)
Here are the basics of setting up your Adwords campaign.
Select Your Locations
Select a radius around your city, the whole state, or the counties you service.
If you're in San Diego and work within a 50 mile radius, it doesn't make much sense to show your ads nationwide. This will get very expensive and you'll get a lot of calls from marketing companies trying to sell you on SEO or advertising.
I recommend carefully selecting only the areas you serve and displaying your ads to people in those areas.
Writing Great Ads
When writing your ads, you have limited room for getting your main selling points across. You get 2 headlines and a description with an 80 character limit.
Make the most of your space by using a headline like "San Diego Commercial Roofing" and a sub-headline like "Get A Free 24 Hour Estimate".
Include your BBB rating, your warranty, and clear action that you want them to take. For this to work, your ads need to stick out on Google and get attention. See what your competitors' ads look like and try to out-do them.
Choosing The Best Keywords
Choosing the right keywords is very important. To keep tire kickers out and save money, make sure you're only going after keywords that have buying motivation behind them.
A keyword like "commercial roofing" is pretty broad. Someone looking into starting a commercial roofing company could be searching that (low buying motivation). On the other hand, a slight tweak to the second word like "commercial roofers" means they're searching for a commercial roofer (higher buying motivation). It makes a big difference and keeps you from wasting money on tire kickers.
For starters, keep it simple and choose just a handful of keywords. Here's a list that you can start with:
"commercial roofing companies"
"commercial roofing contractors"
"commercial roof repair"
"(your city) commercial roofing"
"(your state) commercial roofing"
"metal roofing companies"
Set Your Budget
When it comes to the budget, you can do a daily or a monthly budget. I recommend going with the daily option to not spend too much too soon. If you only spend $10/day... you will get very few leads and it'll take a long time for the campaign to get its legs.
I recommend starting with a budget that will let you get 3-4 clicks per day.
For example: If your average Cost-Per-Click is $8, set a budget of $40/day Monday - Friday. Running your ads 20 days per month at $40/day will cost $800/month.
For that $800, you should get anywhere from 15-30 commercial roofing leads every month.
Not too bad if you ask me. I have multiple commercial roofers around the US using this method to get $250,000+ jobs coming in every 6-8 weeks. After you sell your first job from these leads, you can increase your budget and go after 50+ or 100+ commercial leads per month.
The sky is the limit when you know your numbers and have a system that you can scale.
Hopefully this guide has given you a new way of looking lead generation. You don't need to rely on referrals for leads anymore. You can have your own system that gets you a steady stream of roofing leads without breaking the bank.
Ready To Take Your Commercial Roofing Business To The Next Level?
Do you want to dominate your commercial roofing market?
If you really want to dominate and become the Apex Predator in your market - then stack one competitive advantage on top of the other.
There is no competitive advantage like an abundance of highly qualified inbound leads.
What if you could get 20 to 40 highly qualified commercial leads every month... guaranteed?
Reserve your free discovery call now by clicking the button below.
Thanks for reading,
Max Reznich founded RoofEngine in 2016 after growing two roofing companies with inbound marketing. His mission is to educate, inspire, and enable every roofing contractor to build the business of their dreams using proven frameworks and marketing campaigns that have worked all over the United States since 2016.
You´re only one conversation away from unlocking new growth inside of your commercial roofing business..